Parliament Website

'One Team For Our Nhs' Campaign

EDM number 501 in 2015-16, proposed by David Anderson on 12/10/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Health staff and professions.

That this House recognises the essential work carried out by support staff in helping the NHS achieve consistently high standards of care and patient experience; believes that everyone who works in the NHS should be properly valued, whatever role they fill; asserts that the media-driven divide between frontline clinical services and so-called back office support services is entirely artificial in the NHS; further believes that without support staff the NHS could not function, as those staff enable clinicians to carry out their jobs to the best of their abilities; further recognises that every day NHS support staff work round the clock to dispense medicines, maintain vital equipment, order medical supplies, book appointments, pay bills, manage computer systems, clean, cook, do the laundry and oversee the day-to-day running of the NHS; notes with concern that support staff jobs are often the first to be cut and that many of the services they provide face the constant threat of outsourcing; recognises that managers in the NHS are also under constant attack, despite the NHS being relatively under-managed compared to the rest of the UK economy; and welcomes UNISON's One Team campaign that seeks to highlight this important issue.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

David Anderson12/10/2015BlaydonLabourProposed
Stephen Kinnock12/10/2015AberavonLabourSeconded
Rupa Huq12/10/2015Ealing Central and ActonLabourSeconded
Dan Jarvis12/10/2015Barnsley CentralLabourSeconded
Jo Cox12/10/2015Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens12/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Norman Lamb12/10/2015North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan12/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McNally13/10/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff13/10/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
Martyn Day13/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley13/10/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alan Meale13/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/10/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/10/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/10/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson14/10/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Thangam Debbonaire14/10/2015Bristol WestLabourSigned
Hywel Williams14/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Mann15/10/2015BassetlawLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/10/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Matheson15/10/2015City of ChesterLabourSigned
Helen Hayes15/10/2015Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/10/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Liz McInnes19/10/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/10/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tristram Hunt20/10/2015Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff20/10/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John Cryer20/10/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Chris Law20/10/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Smeeth21/10/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir21/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kate Osamor21/10/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Sammy Wilson22/10/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/10/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart27/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn28/10/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper29/10/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis30/10/2015Bury SouthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Clive Betts03/11/2015Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard03/11/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Graham Stringer09/11/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland10/11/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer16/11/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry16/11/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dowd09/12/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Angus Robertson16/12/2015MorayScottish National PartySigned
Graham Allen13/01/2016Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Geraint Davies25/01/2016Swansea WestLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman11/04/2016Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman13/04/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds18/04/2016Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson25/04/2016Lagan ValleyDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.