Parliament Website

Tipping In The Hospitality Industry

EDM number 595 in 2015-16, proposed by Ian Mearns on 26/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Pay and Service industries.

That this House notes the Government's consultation on tips, gratuities, cover and service charges; warns against the proposals in that consultation to cap the amount employers can take from staff tips as an administration fee; calls on the Government instead to conduct an urgent and immediate review of the 2009 voluntary Code of Practice on Service Charges, Tips, Gratuities and Cover Charges, which was backed by a cross-section of industry stake-holders including employers, consumer groups and trades unions, as the best foundation for improving tipping; and further calls on the Government to introduce clear and mandatory rules on tipping to ensure that hospitality workers receive 100 per cent of their hard-earned tips with control over how they are distributed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Ian Mearns26/10/2015GatesheadLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley26/10/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day27/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Campbell27/10/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon27/10/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martin Docherty28/10/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson28/10/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Meale28/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris Stephens28/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady29/10/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Imran Hussain29/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Ian Blackford29/10/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart29/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
George Howarth03/11/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mike Gapes04/11/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/11/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer04/11/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield04/11/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/11/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Adrian Bailey04/11/2015West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Helen Hayes04/11/2015Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Paula Sherriff04/11/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier05/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens06/11/2015Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Emma Lewell-Buck06/11/2015South ShieldsLabourSigned
David Anderson09/11/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Chris Law09/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner09/11/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi09/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Neil Gray10/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Conor McGinn16/11/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin19/11/2015ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Graham Stringer03/12/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
David Crausby28/01/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kirsten Oswald01/02/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Tulip Siddiq24/02/2016Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard11/04/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.