Parliament Website

Zero Tolerance On Attacks On Firefighters

EDM number 600 in 2015-16, proposed by David Anderson on 26/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence, Fire services and Industrial health and safety.

That this House notes with regret the necessary and strong warning issued by the Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service (TWFRS) about prosecuting people who attack firefighters while they carry out their life saving work in the light of recent physical attacks; agrees with the TWFRS that attacks on crews not only hinder them from fulfilling their role to make our communities safe but also risk putting emergency equipment out of action which could be needed to save a life at any time, and not least around the time of bonfire night; welcomes their decision to employ CCTV on their vehicles and overt and covert methods to prevent such irresponsible and dangerous attacks; and urges the public to co-operate with the fire and rescue service and the police in encouraging zero tolerance of such behaviour against firefighters in the line of their duty to protect the community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

David Anderson26/10/2015BlaydonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley26/10/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon27/10/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
George Kerevan27/10/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Hywel Williams27/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Williams27/10/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Mearns27/10/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss27/10/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan27/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kate Hoey27/10/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/10/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Liz McInnes27/10/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Cryer27/10/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew McDonald27/10/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/10/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson28/10/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
George Howarth28/10/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds28/10/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Chris Stephens28/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald28/10/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale28/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell28/10/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Fiona Mactaggart29/10/2015SloughLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer29/10/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts29/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Blackford29/10/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Imran Hussain29/10/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford04/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff04/11/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi09/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Conor McGinn16/11/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby28/01/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.