Parliament Website

International Day For The Elimination Of Violence Against Women

EDM number 770 in 2015-16, proposed by Angela Crawley on 25/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence, Equality, Sex discrimination and Sexual offences.

That this House welcomes the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, taking place on 25 November 2015; understands that the day marks the start of the 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence, which in 2015, for the first time, has prevention as its theme; notes that one in three women will experience physical and/or sexual violence in their lifetime but believes such violence and abuse is preventable; acknowledges that major progress has been made around the world in terms of laws to protect women and girls; further notes in particular Guatemala's recent decision to ban child marriage, and that between 1995 and 2013 the percentage of countries that established a legal minimum age of marriage for girls of at least 18 years increased from 76 per cent to 89 per cent; further welcomes Nigeria's decision in May 2015 to ban female genital mutilation and hopes that its decision will set a bench-mark on the issue for other African countries; further understands the challenge in changing the cultural and societal attitudes that support child marriage and female genital mutilation and notes that although substantial progress has been made in recent years, violence against women is still a prevalent issue; further acknowledges the calls for government investment and engagement with civil society, especially women's groups, and notes the concerns of the activists who put the issue of global violence against women and girls on the map are increasingly being left out of the discussions; believes the people being excluded from the expanding conversation are the people who will identify emerging issues and ensure that the development of policies and services remain responsive to the needs of women and girls; and calls on the Government to recognise campaigners' importance in policy making and believes their voices are critical for future progress.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Angela Crawley25/11/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartyProposed
Tommy Sheppard25/11/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss25/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell25/11/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day25/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Eilidh Whiteford25/11/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows25/11/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig25/11/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson25/11/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh25/11/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin25/11/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley26/11/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Philippa Whitford26/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/11/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Patrick Grady26/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan26/11/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law26/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon26/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Meale26/11/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Ian Blackford26/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir26/11/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan26/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson30/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan30/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson30/11/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black30/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz30/11/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie30/11/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens30/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Angus MacNeil03/12/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/12/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry08/12/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.