Parliament Website

Research And Development And New Medicines

EDM number 867 in 2015-16, proposed by Alan Meale on 14/12/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Medicine and Research and innovation.

That this House is aware that the World Health Organisation (WHO) is shortly to discuss reforms of the research and development of medicines worldwide; notes that examples of failures in medicine include lack of new treatments for conditions such as tuberculosis and other so-called diseases of poverty, and that those suffering life threatening conditions like cancer being unable to afford the treatments needed to survive; and further notes the WHO has created a consultative export group (CEG) whose remit is to prepare a new international agreement which will create alternatives to market-only based incentives for pharmaceutical companies to produce new medicines, prioritise health research according to need rather than profit and establish a pooled fund for research and development to be financed by a levy of 0.01 per cent of gross domestic product to develop new treatments.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Alan Meale14/12/2015MansfieldLabourProposed
David Crausby14/12/2015Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery14/12/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris14/12/2015EasingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns14/12/2015GatesheadLabourSeconded
Geraint Davies14/12/2015Swansea WestLabourSeconded
David Simpson15/12/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham15/12/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon15/12/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens15/12/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz15/12/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie15/12/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Monaghan16/12/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
John McNally16/12/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/12/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner16/12/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/12/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Weir16/12/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff05/01/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mary Glindon06/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma06/01/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Patrick Grady11/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi21/01/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas01/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.