Parliament Website

Curry House Closures

EDM number 969 in 2015-16, proposed by Greg Mulholland on 19/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Food, Immigration, Pay and Service industries.

That this House notes there are an estimated 12,000 curry restaurants and takeaways across the UK, employing more than 100,000 people in an industry worth £4.2 billion to the economy; further notes research from Nationwide that the average home spends £1,355 a year on curries and that, according to National Curry Week, 23 million people eat curry every year; believes that the curry has become a core part of British cuisine since the first curry house opened in Britain in 1810; commends generations of Indians, Pakistanis and Bangladeshis who have brought their wonderful cuisine to Britain; expresses concern that on average two curry houses a week are now closing; notes that a strong factor behind this trend is the Home Office's Tier 2 visa scheme which caps the number of visas awarded to non-EU workers every year at 20,700; further notes that qualifying for a Tier 2 visa requires a job paying £20,800, but, with chefs being on the Government’s Shortage Occupation List, the salary threshold is significantly higher at £29,750 after deductions for accommodation and food; notes that the average salary for a chef is £24,745; believes it is therefore extremely difficult to hire skilled curry house chefs from abroad; notes that Government measures to plug the skills gap domestically have not worked; calls on Government to look at lowering the Tier 2 visa scheme's minimum salary requirement for chefs to enable easier recruitment from abroad and therefore give Britain's curry houses a much needed boost.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Greg Mulholland19/01/2016Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Ronnie Campbell20/01/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Bob Blackman20/01/2016Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon20/01/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Keith Vaz20/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Alison Thewliss21/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts21/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Neil Gray22/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson22/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson25/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil25/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford26/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock27/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon28/01/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens01/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams01/02/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz08/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff10/02/2016DewsburyLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.