Parliament Website

Conditions Of Agency Workers

EDM number 985 in 2015-16, proposed by Marion Fellows on 20/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial health and safety and Industrial relations.

That this House notes that employees hired via agencies and third party bodies are not subject to the same conditions and rights as non-agency employees performing equivalent work; further notes that this leads to unacceptable exploitation of agency and third party workers; notes that, particularly in the case of agency drivers, this can lead to failures to adhere to health and safety legislation as workers often take whatever shifts are offered to them due to the financial uncertainty caused by zero hours contracts, leading to overworked employees handling heavy machinery and posing a threat to public safety; and recognises and supports the position that agencies and the contracts of their workers need an urgent review and subsequent regulation to ensure the rights and wellbeing of workers and members of the public.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Marion Fellows20/01/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartyProposed
Owen Thompson20/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman20/01/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan20/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry20/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell20/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson20/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady20/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan20/01/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh20/01/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/01/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron20/01/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/01/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/01/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond20/01/2016Signed
Deidre Brock20/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/01/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan20/01/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig20/01/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr20/01/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin20/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley21/01/2016Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kirsten Oswald21/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Alison Thewliss21/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray22/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson22/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black22/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas22/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tommy Sheppard25/01/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil25/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff27/01/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan27/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michelle Thomson28/01/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson28/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham28/01/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi22/02/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands22/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.