Parliament Website

Effect Of Tax On Scotch Whisky Industry

EDM number 1037 in 2016-17, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 08/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Service industries and Taxation.

That this House notes that the Chancellor of the Exchequer has increased excise duty on Scotch Whisky by 3.9 per cent in the Spring Budget; understands that the tax burden on the average priced bottle of Scotch Whisky is now 79 per cent; recognises that this level of taxation undermines the competitiveness of a key Scottish and UK industry; further notes that the Prime Minister has called Scotch Whisky, a truly great Scottish and British industry; and calls on the Government to introduce greater tax fairness for Scotch Whisky and to review the flawed excise duty system.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Alistair Carmichael08/03/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
Ian Murray08/03/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/03/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Nigel Evans13/03/2017Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Chris Law14/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara14/03/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows14/03/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray14/03/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Helen Grant14/03/2017Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan14/03/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson14/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford14/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty15/03/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Greg Mulholland15/03/2017Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michelle Thomson15/03/2017Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman16/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier16/03/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan16/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams16/03/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Brown20/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin20/03/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell20/03/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson20/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell20/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond20/03/2017Signed
Stephen Gethins20/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry29/03/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands29/03/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.