Parliament Website

Leyton Orient FC

EDM number 1059 in 2016-17, proposed by John Cryer on 14/03/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Sports and Taxation.

That this House notes with deep concern that a winding-up order has been served on Leyton Orient FC by HM Revenue and Customs due to non-payment of taxes by the club's owner, Francesco Becchetti; further notes Mr Becchetti's highly dubious business record, including a criminal investigation by the Albanian Government, and his incompetent stewardship of Leyton Orient FC; notes that a venerable and well-known community football club is now under threat; and calls on the Government to enforce a genuine fit and proper person test, ensuring that any prospective or current club owner's ability and willingness to pay creditors is robustly checked on a regular basis.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

John Cryer14/03/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley14/03/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Blackman15/03/2017Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/03/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Wes Streeting15/03/2017Ilford NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Gapes15/03/2017Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale15/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon15/03/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens16/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens16/03/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell20/03/2017RomfordConservativeSigned
Peter Lilley20/03/2017Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson20/03/2017Hornchurch and UpminsterConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner20/03/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick20/03/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff21/03/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ian Mearns21/03/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
David Anderson23/03/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Stephen Metcalfe23/03/2017South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSigned
Graham Stringer27/03/2017Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas29/03/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Ian Murray30/03/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Kate Green30/03/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Ian Lucas30/03/2017WrexhamLabourSigned
Stella Creasy30/03/2017WalthamstowLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.