Parliament Website

UN International Day For The Elimination Of Racial Discrimination - Call For Action

EDM number 1086 in 2016-17, proposed by Naseem Shah on 20/03/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Racial discrimination.

That this House welcomes the 2017 UN International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination as an opportunity to reaffirm and demonstrate its commitment to eradicating unlawful racial discrimination and promoting racial equality in the UK; is deeply concerned that 40 years after the 1976 Race Relations Act came into force people of BAME origin are still significantly under-represented in many key areas of public life, including membership of this House; notes the disturbing findings of the Commission for Equality and Human Rights major review of race equality in the UK, Healing a divided Britain: the need for a comprehensive race equality strategy, and its stark warning that failure to tackle deep-rooted race inequality will exacerbate divisions in our society unless urgent Government action is taken; further notes the significant challenges identified in Baroness McGregor-Smith's recently published review of race in the workplace and its clear message that the time for talking is over. Now is the time to act; calls on the Government and employers to implement the 26 recommendations of the McGregor-Smith review without delay; and further calls on the Government to develop and implement a comprehensive race equality strategy in line with the five recommendations of the Commission for Equality and Human Rights' review as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs.

Naseem Shah20/03/2017Bradford WestLabourProposed
Dawn Butler20/03/2017Seconded
Keith Vaz20/03/2017Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Chuka Umunna20/03/2017StreathamLabourSeconded
Tasmina Sheikh20/03/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
David Lammy21/03/2017TottenhamLabourSeconded
Lisa Cameron21/03/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford21/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady21/03/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson21/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald21/03/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier21/03/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson21/03/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Chris Stephens21/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale21/03/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas21/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Margaret Ritchie21/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan21/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/03/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon22/03/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff22/03/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham22/03/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Deidre Brock22/03/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell22/03/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McNally22/03/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry22/03/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon22/03/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Cowan22/03/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard22/03/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley22/03/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell22/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald22/03/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray22/03/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford22/03/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald22/03/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins22/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows23/03/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman24/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss24/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting27/03/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford27/03/2017Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/03/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Pete Wishart28/03/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns28/03/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell28/03/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Howarth29/03/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Owen Thompson29/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Steve Rotheram29/03/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Richard Arkless29/03/2017Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Kate Hollern30/03/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Corri Wilson30/03/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown30/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day30/03/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond18/04/2017Signed

Download raw data as csv or xml.