Parliament Website

150th Anniversary Of The Creation Of The Position Of Comptroller And Auditor General

EDM number 177 in 2016-17, proposed by Meg Hillier on 09/06/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Public expenditure.

That this House commemorates the 150th anniversary of that creation of the position of Comptroller and Auditor General (C&AG), an Officer of the House, resulting from the passage of the Exchequer and Audit Act 1866; notes that Act, which entrusted the C&AG with responsibility for auditing the financial accounts produced by each government department, marked a pivotal moment in achieving financial accountability of government, which until then had been lacking sufficient and consistent scrutiny, hampering Parliament's oversight of public expenditure; places on record its appreciation for all those who have served as C&AG over the last 150 years and acknowledges the work done by the present C&AG, Sir Amyas Morse, and his staff at the National Audit Office who have helped create over £5.5 billion in savings across the public sector over the last five years; further notes that Sir Amyas Morse and the National Audit Office play a vital role supporting Parliament to hold the Government to account for the value for money of public spending and the services it provides; and notes that accountability to Parliament for taxpayers' money is an inextricable part of good public management and democratic government which remains as important now as it ever has been.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Meg Hillier09/06/2016Hackney South and ShoreditchLabourProposed
Edward Leigh09/06/2016GainsboroughConservativeSeconded
Margaret Hodge09/06/2016BarkingLabourSeconded
Helen Goodman09/06/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
John Pugh09/06/2016SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mary Creagh09/06/2016WakefieldLabourSeconded
Nigel Mills09/06/2016Amber ValleyConservativeSigned
Chris Evans09/06/2016IslwynLabourSigned
Caroline Flint09/06/2016Don ValleyLabourSigned
David Davies09/06/2016MonmouthConservativeSigned
Deidre Brock09/06/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Richard Bacon09/06/2016South NorfolkConservativeSigned
Paul Blomfield13/06/2016Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Chris Stephens13/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale13/06/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/06/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry14/06/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Nick Brown15/06/2016Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned
Jim Shannon15/06/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Karin Smyth15/06/2016Bristol SouthLabourSigned
Anne-Marie Trevelyan15/06/2016Berwick-upon-TweedConservativeSigned
Stewart Jackson15/06/2016PeterboroughConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/06/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gray15/06/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown27/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Davis28/06/2016Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSigned
Nick Smith19/07/2016Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
David Crausby13/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.