Parliament Website

80th Anniversary Of The Jarrow March

EDM number 415 in 2016-17, proposed by Stephen Hepburn on 06/09/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Unemployment.

That this House commemorates with pride the 80th anniversary of the inspirational Jarrow Crusade; salutes the 200 jobless men who set off for London on 5 October 1936 to highlight the grim reality of life without work; commends the proud marchers who wanted Parliament to understand they were orderly, responsible people who deserved the right to work to put food on the table for their families; recognises that the famous Crusade represented an intense pride and togetherness which flourishes in the town today; believes that the 290-mile protest symbolises the strength of a community which adversity had tested but could not defeat; acknowledges that these proud men, the town of Jarrow and their local hon. Member who marched with them, Ellen Wilkinson, united in a collective effort to ask the authorities to listen; regrets that Parliament and the Prime Minister in that era did not treat them with greater respect and respond positively to their plea for employment; and pays tribute to the Crusade's enduring spirit which stamped the town of Jarrow on the world stage.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Tom Blenkinsop05/01/2016Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn06/09/2016JarrowLabourProposed
Dennis Skinner07/09/2016BolsoverLabourSeconded
Alex Salmond07/09/2016Seconded
Jim Shannon07/09/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale07/09/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens07/09/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Mark Durkan08/09/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/09/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Day08/09/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock08/09/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/09/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell12/09/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Emma Lewell-Buck12/09/2016South ShieldsLabourSigned
Martin Docherty13/09/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Clive Betts13/09/2016Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon14/09/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Michael Weir14/09/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Danny Kinahan14/09/2016South AntrimUUPSigned
Tom Elliott14/09/2016Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Jim Dowd14/09/2016Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/09/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Lucas14/09/2016WrexhamLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier15/09/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Sharon Hodgson15/09/2016Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/09/2016North TynesideLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands15/09/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows15/09/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Matheson15/09/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
David Hanson15/09/2016DelynLabourSigned
Owen Thompson10/10/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hannah Bardell10/10/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Drew Hendry10/10/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil10/10/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Nandy10/10/2016WiganLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury10/10/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
John Cryer10/10/2016Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh10/10/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Catherine McKinnell10/10/2016Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham10/10/2016Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/10/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson12/10/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff12/10/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jamie Reed13/10/2016CopelandLabourSigned
David Crausby25/10/2016Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas02/11/2016Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.