Parliament Website

Response To Attempted Coup In Turkey

EDM number 654 in 2016-17, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 07/11/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Eastern Europe, International politics and government, Middle East and Political parties.

That this House is shocked by the arrest and detention of a number of Turkish Members of Parliament from the People's Democratic Party (HDP), including Co-Chairs on 4 November 2016 Selahattin Demirtas and Figen Yüksekdag, which threaten to undermine parliamentary democracy and social cohesion in Turkey; is very concerned that developments in recent months have gone far beyond what could be considered proportionate in response to the coup attempt in July 2016 and that emergency powers since granted are being used to stifle the media, crush dissent and override legal process; notes with alarm that since July 2016 thousands have been jailed, over 100,000 government workers dismissed or suspended and over 100 media outlets closed because of alleged connections to the Gullen movement, as well as the closure of dozens of Kurdish-language newspapers and news channels and the sacking and detention of many elected mayors in south-east Turkey; calls on the Turkish government to end its persecution and prosecution of legitimate critics and opposition, as well as to resume the peace process to end the continuing conflict in south-east Turkey; and further calls on the Government to issue a statement and make representations to its Turkish counterparts as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Ann Clwyd07/11/2016Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Mark Durkan07/11/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie08/11/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham08/11/2016Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Natalie McGarry08/11/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Meale08/11/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards08/11/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon08/11/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens08/11/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/11/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas14/11/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/11/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon16/11/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer16/11/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Mullin22/11/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ryan28/11/2016Signed
Angus MacNeil29/11/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond29/11/2016Signed
Marion Fellows29/11/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry30/11/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson01/12/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown05/12/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin05/12/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/12/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.