Parliament Website

Mineworkers Pension Scheme

EDM number 671 in 2016-17, proposed by Alan Meale on 14/11/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Coal and Pensions.

That this House is aware that between 1987 and 1995 British Coal did not pay any employer contributions into the UK industry Mine Workers Pension Schemes (MPS) which benefited them as employers by approximately £1.136 billion; notes that when its representatives and others voted to consequently close the schemes, they also took the decision to allow 50 per cent of any surpluses to be taken by the Government which it is calculated will result eventually in the Government receiving in excess of £8 billion from both the MPS and its associate the BCSSS pension scheme, a scenario forecast by its own actuaries in 1995 and compounded later by their actions between 2002 and 2005 when the fund was used to cover a coal industry deficit for that period estimated as being worth a further £390 million, which it then recovered with interest amounting to £540 million, after which it then added a further £229 million as representing 50 per cent of the remaining surpluses at that time; finds this depletion of those funds in this way extraordinary, particularly as the industry was facing financial problems and merely was borrowing its own money; and calls on the Government to carry out an urgent review of those practices and the use of those pension assets in such an unacceptable manner.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Alan Meale14/11/2016MansfieldLabourProposed
Dennis Skinner14/11/2016BolsoverLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns14/11/2016GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell14/11/2016Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery14/11/2016WansbeckLabourSeconded
David Crausby14/11/2016Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon15/11/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Albert Owen15/11/2016Ynys MLabourSigned
Chris Stephens15/11/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham15/11/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards15/11/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Blenkinsop15/11/2016Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Lady Hermon16/11/2016North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer16/11/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/11/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Robert Flello16/11/2016Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry16/11/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kevin Barron25/11/2016Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Blackford28/11/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts28/11/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Marion Fellows29/11/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond29/11/2016Signed
Angus MacNeil29/11/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson29/11/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson01/12/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown05/12/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Evans05/12/2016IslwynLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell07/12/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/12/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins12/12/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Vernon Coaker14/12/2016GedlingLabourSigned
Bill Esterson14/12/2016Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Wayne David14/12/2016CaerphillyLabourSigned
Helen Goodman14/12/2016Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Clive Betts15/12/2016Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Kevan Jones15/12/2016North DurhamLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth15/12/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Michael Dugher10/01/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Conor McGinn30/01/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue07/02/2017MakerfieldLabourSigned
Chris Law14/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jon Trickett16/03/2017HemsworthLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock16/03/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd20/03/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.