Parliament Website

International Student Day

EDM number 686 in 2016-17, proposed by Stuart McDonald on 16/11/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Higher education, Nationality and Students.

That this House welcomes International Students Day, 17 November, notes the immense contribution that international students make to UK education, the economy and society; understands that other countries such as Canada, Australia and the US are outpacing the UK in terms of growth in the international education sector through a range of policy measures which make study more attractive to international students; believes that the Government should commit to expanding the international education sector and introduce policies that pursue that ambition; and further believes that internationals students should be excluded from any migration targets.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Stuart McDonald16/11/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartyProposed
Naseem Shah16/11/2016Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Anne McLaughlin16/11/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Paisley Jnr17/11/2016North AntrimDUPSeconded
Alan Meale17/11/2016MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon17/11/2016StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens17/11/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day17/11/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan18/11/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham18/11/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/11/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law18/11/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Seema Malhotra21/11/2016Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer21/11/2016St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/11/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alison Thewliss21/11/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson21/11/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth22/11/2016KnowsleyLabourSigned
Keith Vaz22/11/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Wes Streeting22/11/2016Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Ian Blackford22/11/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan22/11/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty22/11/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes23/11/2016Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Mark Williams23/11/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kirsten Oswald23/11/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady24/11/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows29/11/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson29/11/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond29/11/2016Signed
Angus MacNeil29/11/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry30/11/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson01/12/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown05/12/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/12/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/12/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins12/12/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.