Parliament Website

FIFA Recognition Of Football Teams In The Occupied Palestinian Territories

EDM number 811 in 2016-17, proposed by Tommy Sheppard on 14/12/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Middle East and Sports.

That this House notes with considerable concern that six football teams based in illegal Israeli settlements are playing in the Israeli football league, in the 3rd, 4th and 5th tiers, organised by the Israel Football Association (IFA), a member of FIFA; further notes that UN resolutions and international law are clear that those settlements, built in the Occupied Palestinian Territories, are not part of Israel and are illegal under international law; is concerned that football is being used to legitimise the illegal occupation and the illegal settlement project; calls on FIFA to resolve this situation and prohibit teams based in illegally occupied territory from playing in the Israeli football league, which is accountable to FIFA; and calls on FIFA to stop business activity that supports those settlements.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Tommy Sheppard14/12/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartyProposed
Margaret Ferrier14/12/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2016Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Natalie McGarry14/12/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Kate Hollern14/12/2016BlackburnLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan14/12/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Martin Docherty14/12/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown14/12/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell14/12/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham15/12/2016Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards15/12/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/12/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alex Salmond16/12/2016Signed
Chris Law16/12/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens16/12/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day19/12/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson19/12/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford19/12/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry19/12/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan19/12/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/12/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan20/12/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Matheson20/12/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell20/12/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams20/12/2016CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Owen Thompson09/01/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara09/01/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake09/01/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh11/01/2017SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Deidre Brock19/01/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin23/01/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless03/02/2017Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.