Parliament Website

Euratom Treaty

EDM number 905 in 2016-17, proposed by Paul Monaghan on 01/02/2017.
Categorised under the topic of EU law and treaties.

That this House expresses regret and grave concern at the Government's intention to progress the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill and recognises that the implications will include separating from the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom); notes that Euratom has ensured commitment to the highest standards of nuclear safety, safeguards and support for the industry since 1957; recognises that the principal goal of the Euratom Treaty is to contribute to the raising of the standard of living in the member states and to the development of relations with the other countries; further notes that there is no legal requirement for the UK to trigger a Euratom exit at the same time as leaving the EU, or at all; observes that the Euratom Treaty provides a framework for international nuclear safeguard compliance, and undertakes safeguards, inspections and reporting; and records the fact that dispensing with UK international treaty obligations on nuclear non-proliferation managed through Euratom will damage the UK's nuclear industry, jeopardise high-quality jobs in engineering and chemistry and further erode confidence in the UK's already diminishing international influence.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Paul Monaghan01/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Stephens02/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
John Nicolson03/02/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law03/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alex Salmond03/02/2017Seconded
Angus MacNeil03/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/02/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Marsden06/02/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/02/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Docherty06/02/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock06/02/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford06/02/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry06/02/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/02/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon07/02/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/02/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Carol Monaghan07/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson07/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss07/02/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan07/02/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry08/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/02/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally08/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie08/02/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/02/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams09/02/2017CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr13/03/2017Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.