Parliament Website

Ministry Of Defence Site Closures

EDM number 914 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Stephens on 02/02/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Armed forces.

That this House is concerned by the Government's proposed closure of almost 100 Ministry of Defence sites across the UK; notes the detrimental impact these closures will have on civilian and military staff and their families; further notes the socio-economic impact on local communities; is further concerned by the lack of consultation with representatives of civilian staff or community leaders; is aware a detailed financial assessment has not been made of the cost linked to closing sites and preparing them for resale, including decontamination works; notes that the Government has failed to carry out a site-by-site socio-economic impact assessment; and calls on the Government to delay closure of these sites to allow time for full consideration regarding the future of the defence estate with local community leaders, military and civilian staff.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Chris Stephens02/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Kelvin Hopkins02/02/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lisa Cameron02/02/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Ruth Smeeth02/02/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
David Hanson02/02/2017DelynLabourSeconded
Elliott, Tom02/02/2017Seconded
John Spellar02/02/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Danny Kinahan02/02/2017South AntrimUUPSigned
Gordon Marsden02/02/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell03/02/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond03/02/2017Signed
Chris Law03/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson03/02/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson03/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/02/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Blackford06/02/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/02/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Drew Hendry06/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/02/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham07/02/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon07/02/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Monaghan07/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson07/02/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Meale07/02/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Martyn Day07/02/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry08/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/02/2017East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally08/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell08/02/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson08/02/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Conor McGinn09/02/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/02/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Corri Wilson20/02/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby22/02/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands24/02/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman28/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.