Parliament Website

Equality And Human Rights Commission Sacked Staff

EDM number 944 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Stephens on 20/02/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Equality, Human rights and Industrial relations.

That this House notes with great concern the decision of the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) to sack 10 staff members on 9 February 2017 via email and with only one day's notice; further notes that seven of those who were sacked are of black and minority ethnic (BME) origin, six are disabled and all are trade union members; is further concerned that staff were denied the opportunity to seek employment within the Civil Service due to the implementation of Payment In Lieu of Notice; believes that this in particular discriminates against BME, disabled and female staff who may struggle to find further employment; notes that staff have taken part in several days of strike action in recent months against compulsory redundancies and budget cuts within the Commission; understands that the EHRC was established to help eliminate discrimination, reduce inequality and protect human rights in the UK; and calls on the Government to intervene and reinstate all sacked staff members and to properly fund and staff the EHRC to ensure that discrimination and inequality within the UK is eradicated.

This motion has been signed by a total of 62 MPs.

Chris Stephens20/02/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Jo Stevens21/02/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Natalie McGarry21/02/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss21/02/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins21/02/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
John McNally21/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards21/02/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stuart McDonald21/02/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale21/02/2017MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Docherty21/02/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham21/02/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman22/02/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon22/02/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell22/02/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan22/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Jack Dromey22/02/2017Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald22/02/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir22/02/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas22/02/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Owen Smith23/02/2017PontypriddLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/02/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Patrick Grady23/02/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn23/02/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Deidre Brock24/02/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan24/02/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands24/02/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond24/02/2017Signed
Angus MacNeil24/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara24/02/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard24/02/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan27/02/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry27/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin27/02/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson28/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Barry Sheerman28/02/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts01/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day01/03/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart01/03/2017SloughLabourSigned
David Lammy01/03/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson01/03/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green01/03/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
John Nicolson01/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake02/03/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Eilidh Whiteford02/03/2017Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig02/03/2017Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes02/03/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Chris Matheson02/03/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis06/03/2017Bury SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown06/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes07/03/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff07/03/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
George Howarth13/03/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
John Pugh13/03/2017SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Calum Kerr13/03/2017Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Colleen Fletcher13/03/2017Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman16/03/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford20/03/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Patricia Gibson18/04/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley18/04/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh19/04/2017Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.