Parliament Website

Electronic Voting For Industrial Action Ballots

EDM number 1027 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 06/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations and Information technology.

That this House notes that electronic voting is now commonplace for elections in a wide variety of elections in civil society bodies, including the internal elections for the Conservative candidate for Mayor of London and in shareholder ballots of multinational companies; rejects the argument that additional trials are necessary in non-statutory contexts before such widely adopted measures might be employed for industrial action balloting; regrets the Government's unwarranted delay in approving the use of new technologies; fears this is politically motivated and aimed at keeping turnout figures below the arbitrary thresholds imposed in the Trade Union Act 2016; and calls on the Government to expedite the introduction of the latest technology for fair and secure electoral participation as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Ian Mearns06/03/2018GatesheadLabourProposed
Grahame Morris06/03/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens06/03/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens06/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts06/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Caroline Lucas06/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Ronnie Campbell07/03/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon07/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Martyn Day08/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands08/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron12/03/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill13/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer14/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/03/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Graham Jones14/03/2018HyndburnLabourSigned
Emma Hardy14/03/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Alex Sobel14/03/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Rosie Cooper14/03/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/03/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham14/03/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ruth George15/03/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth Smeeth21/03/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara22/03/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Chris Williamson22/03/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Sandy Martin22/03/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Conor McGinn27/03/2018St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.