Parliament Website

International Women's Day 2018 And Recognition Of Ensaf Haidar

EDM number 1034 in 2017-19, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 07/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Human rights and Middle East.

That this House celebrates International Women's Day which is marked on 8 March 2018; acknowledges that this day helps celebrate the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women across the world; recognises the role of the Saudi Arabian-Canadian human rights activist Ensaf Haidar, president of the Raif Badawi Foundation for Freedom, who campaigns for freedom of speech and human rights awareness in the Arab world; notes the work of Ensaf in fighting to free her husband, the jailed Saudi blogger Raif Badawi and raising awareness of Raif’s story across the world; commends Ensaf for her role in championing free speech and women's rights across the Arab world; and calls on the Government to recognise efforts of Ensaf Haidar and work with the Raif Badawi Foundation for Freedom to ensure Raif, and other journalists and writers across the Middle East, gain their freedom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Stewart McDonald07/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss07/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry07/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry07/03/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins07/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald07/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray07/03/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock07/03/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell07/03/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands08/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady08/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day08/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon08/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/03/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens12/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Pete Wishart13/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman15/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake15/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Brown15/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin22/03/2018IpswichLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.