Parliament Website

European Union Citizenship

EDM number 1045 in 2017-19, proposed by Hywel Williams on 08/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and Nationality.

That this House notes its unanimous approval of the Motion in the name if Plaid Cymru on 7 March 2018 that it supports the maintenance of EU citizenship rights for Welsh, Scottish, Northern Irish and English citizens; further notes that the range of rights and protections afforded to individuals as EU citizens are integral to a person's European identity; notes that many of those rights are closely linked to the UK's membership of the single market; calls on the Government to ensure that the UK's membership of the single market and UK citizens' rights to EU citizenship are retained in the event that the UK leaves the EU; and further calls on the Government to set out its plan for the retention of those rights as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Hywel Williams08/03/2018ArfonPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts08/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards08/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake08/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day12/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens12/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden13/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart13/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham13/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss13/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman15/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan15/03/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown15/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran16/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tommy Sheppard16/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black16/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty16/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan16/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally16/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Patrick Grady19/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty19/03/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins20/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman21/03/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock21/03/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil16/04/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.