Parliament Website

Part Two Of The Leveson Inquiry

EDM number 1079 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Williamson on 15/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Police, Press and Public inquiries.

That this House is hugely disappointed and angered by the Government's refusal to proceed with Phase 2 of the Leveson Inquiry into the relationships between media companies and the police; believes that this is bad for politics, bad for journalism and bad for the public; further believes there is a clear need for an inquiry into whether the botched initial investigation into telephone hacking by the Metropolitan Police was due to ineptitude or because of the cosy relationship between senior executives of both organisations, with high-ranking officers being rewarded with lucrative columns in Rupert Murdoch's newspapers; believes that we need an investigation into the mass amnesia and ignorance of newspaper executives at the Leveson inquiry and at parliamentary committee hearings; and still considers that there is overwhelming public interest in an inquiry into the extent of corporate governance and management failures at newspapers organisations and the role of politicians, public servants and others in any failure to investigate wrongdoing at News International.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Chris Williamson15/03/2018Derby NorthLabourProposed
Grahame Morris15/03/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Joanna Cherry15/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens15/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Christine Jardine15/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Caroline Lucas15/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Layla Moran21/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham27/03/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Lucas27/03/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Paul Flynn28/03/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Jo Stevens29/03/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse18/04/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Thelma Walker18/04/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Mhairi Black19/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns19/04/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Tom Brake19/04/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford23/04/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jared O'Mara23/04/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Daniel Zeichner24/04/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff24/04/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd25/04/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.