Parliament Website

Earth Hour 2018

EDM number 1085 in 2017-19, proposed by Timothy Farron on 16/03/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Climate change.

That this House welcomes the WWF's Earth Hour which falls on 24 March 2018, and aims to see millions of people across the UK switch their lights off for one hour starting at 8.30pm in order to highlight the need for strong action to tackle climate change; expresses concern that in the last 25 years one in six of the planet's species have become at risk of extinction from climate change; congratulates the communities, businesses and landmarks from around the world who have already committed to switching their lights off for Earth Hour 2018; and urges the Government to respond to WWF's call to take global leadership on tackling climate change, limiting total global warming to 1.5 degrees and to rescue and restore nature for future generations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Tim Farron16/03/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Aldous16/03/2018WaveneyConservativeSeconded
Lisa Cameron19/03/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden19/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens19/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Penning20/03/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Matt Western20/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Martyn Day20/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran21/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon22/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Jo Swinson26/03/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse26/03/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael26/03/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine29/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.