Parliament Website

Residency Of EU Nationals Married To UK Service Personnel

EDM number 1133 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 27/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Children and families and Nationality.

That this House is concerned about the post-EU withdrawal status of EU nationals residing in the UK without permanent residence who are the military spouses of UK service personnel; notes the case of Joy Gillon, a Scottish resident German national whose residency in the UK on exit day will not meet the five year threshold for permanent residence; further notes that her husband, a Scottish soldier of the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards, is currently posted in Leuchars Station but may be posted overseas this summer; is further concerned that, if she were to leave the UK with her husband in support of his service, that her accumulated continuous residence would be lost and that this may have financial consequences for their family on return to the UK; is concerned that there are many people in similar situations throughout the UK; stands in solidarity with military spouses and families; understands the importance of keeping such families together and ensuring their right to remain in the UK; recognises the strain that is placed on families due to the uncertainty of Brexit; and calls on the Government to take immediate action and make the appropriate provisions for military spouses who are EU nationals to achieve permanent residence in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Stephen Gethins27/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon28/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham28/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Patrick Grady28/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden28/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Robinson28/03/2018Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Alison Thewliss28/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon29/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty16/04/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran19/04/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George23/04/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry23/04/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty23/04/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan23/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake23/04/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Caroline Lucas25/04/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.