Parliament Website

Coventry University Trade Union Dispute

EDM number 1178 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Cunningham on 18/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Higher education and Industrial relations.

That this House notes that Coventry University revealed that it had registered its staff association, the Staff Consultative Group, as a union and signed a recognition agreement with it; is alarmed about reports that the majority of Coventry University staff were unaware of the staff association and were not consulted; is concerned that this means that staff in the CU Group have been denied a union since the company was set up five years ago; further notes that members and staff have made it clear that they want the University and College Union (UCU) to represent them; notes that a petition has been started on this issue, gaining 9,453 signatures so far; and calls on Coventry University to derecognise its company union and recognise the UCU for collective bargaining with immediate effect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Jim Cunningham18/04/2018Coventry SouthLabourProposed
Chris Stephens18/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/04/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Hill18/04/2018HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon19/04/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Matt Western23/04/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSeconded
John Grogan23/04/2018Signed
Dennis Skinner23/04/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Grahame Morris23/04/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner23/04/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara23/04/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan23/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens23/04/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/04/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gavin Robinson24/04/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Hilary Benn24/04/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff24/04/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John McNally24/04/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Adrian Bailey25/04/2018West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon25/04/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Sandy Martin26/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe30/04/2018Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ruth George30/04/2018High PeakLabourSigned
John Cryer30/04/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson01/05/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Paul Girvan01/05/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Douglas Chapman08/05/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Clive Efford09/05/2018ElthamLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas05/06/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Ian Lucas18/06/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter09/10/2018HammersmithLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.