Parliament Website

Royal Windsor Horse Show And Human Rights In Bahrain

EDM number 1210 in 2017-19, proposed by Andy Slaughter on 26/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Middle East and Sports.

That this House condemns the Bahraini authorities' detention and interrogation of the family members of UK-based Bahraini human rights activists who participated in peaceful protests against the King of Bahrain's attendance at the 2017 Royal Windsor Horse Show; is alarmed by the fact that British journalist Jason Parkinson was followed and threatened by plainclothes Bahraini intelligence officers from the Windsor showground to London in 2017; is appalled by the invitation to Prince Nasser to attend this year's Royal Windsor Horse Show, when his alleged involvement in the torture of detainees in Bahrain which led to his immunity being revoked by the High Court of Justice in 2014, has yet to be addressed and thoroughly investigated; calls on the Government to uphold its pledge to protect freedom of expression and assembly in both Bahrain and the UK; demands assurances from the Bahraini authorities that protesters in the UK and their family members residing in Bahrain will no longer be harassed through reprisals for speaking about the crackdown on human rights in Bahrain, as in the case of UK-based activist Sayed Alwadaei, whose family members were convicted and sentenced to years in prison on the basis of confessions extracted under duress; notes that, if the Government is unable to secure the release of Mr Alwadaei's family members and protect the safety of protesters in the UK, the invitation to the King of Bahrain should be retracted.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Andy Slaughter26/04/2018HammersmithLabourProposed
Chris Stephens27/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Dennis Skinner30/04/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Roger Godsiff30/04/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon30/04/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham01/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Sandy Martin01/05/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Mike Hill01/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Grahame Morris08/05/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Matt Western08/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Alex Sobel09/05/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Caroline Lucas09/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Brown09/05/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart09/05/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell10/05/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine10/05/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law10/05/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake10/05/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Helen Hayes17/05/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Drew Hendry21/05/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil21/05/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson04/06/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.