Parliament Website

Abortion Clinic Buffer Zones

EDM number 1244 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 08/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Medical ethics.

That this House notes with concern the persistent harassment, intimidation and targeting of people accessing and providing healthcare services at abortion clinics and pregnancy advisory bureaux; further notes repeated instances of women and staff being approached, recorded without their consent, followed and given false information about medical procedures; endorses the then Home Secretary's statement of 17 January 2018 that it is completely unacceptable for women to face harassment or intimidation for exercising their legal right to healthcare advice and treatment; welcomes the decision of Ealing Council to implement a buffer zone around a clinic on Mattock Lane that has been subject to long­standing, intimidatory and invasive activity and the work of other local authorities to find solutions to clinic protests in their areas; recognises that this harassment and intimidation is not limited to one borough but has taken place at 42 clinics across the UK in the last year alone; supports the British Pregnancy Advisory Service's Back Off campaign to introduce buffer zones outside reproductive health clinics as a means of ensuring that women are not harassed or obstructed from accessing confidential advice and treatment; looks forward to the conclusion of the Home Office's ongoing review into abortion clinic protests and the impact they have on women in England and Wales; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to protect the right of women to access lawful healthcare by introducing and implementing buffer zones around abortion clinics and pregnancy advisory bureaux.

This motion has been signed by a total of 60 MPs.

Caroline Lucas08/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Lisa Nandy08/05/2018WiganLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts08/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Layla Moran08/05/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/05/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Rupa Huq08/05/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSeconded
Roger Godsiff09/05/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Thelma Walker09/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Williams09/05/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury09/05/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Karen Lee09/05/2018LincolnLabourSigned
Ben Lake09/05/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Lucy Powell09/05/2018Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna09/05/2018StreathamLabourSigned
Wes Streeting09/05/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg09/05/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Emma Hardy09/05/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth09/05/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock09/05/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Catherine West09/05/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Rachel Reeves09/05/2018Leeds WestLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas09/05/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Norman Lamb09/05/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson09/05/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Anna McMorrin09/05/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer09/05/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards09/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ann Coffey09/05/2018StockportLabourSigned
Kate Green09/05/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle09/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Christine Jardine09/05/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Slaughter09/05/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Luciana Berger09/05/2018Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Harriet Harman09/05/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner09/05/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas09/05/2018Harrow WestLabourSigned
Helen Hayes09/05/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Sandy Martin09/05/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Neil Coyle09/05/2018Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/05/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Jess Phillips09/05/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Jo Stevens09/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Hywel Williams09/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Lammy09/05/2018TottenhamLabourSigned
Edward Davey10/05/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hollern14/05/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Chris Williamson14/05/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Alison McGovern21/05/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Matt Western21/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Graham Jones21/05/2018HyndburnLabourSigned
Mike Gapes21/05/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq21/05/2018Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma21/05/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Farrelly22/05/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Tom Brake04/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael04/06/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman20/06/2018HuddersfieldLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.