Parliament Website

Mcdonald's And Tax Transparency

EDM number 1276 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Mearns on 16/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Service industries and Taxation.

That this House House welcomes the publication of the Unhappier Meal report by a coalition of European and US trades unions detailing tax avoidance strategies pursued by the global fast food corporation McDonald's, which saw global sales reach $90 billion in 2017 alone; notes that the company's 2015 reorganisation saw the headquarters of McD Europe Franchising Sàrl relocated from Luxembourg to Delaware in the US, a jurisdiction with very limited disclosure requirements; further notes that this reorganisation also interposed a range of subsidiaries in multiple jurisdictions between the newly named McD Europe Franchising LLC and its holding subsidiaries with the effect of reducing the level of transparency and information available in McDonald's public filings; is concerned that McDonald's is able to rely on multiple subsidiaries or related companies in countries listed on the EU's list of non-cooperative jurisdictions, including the Cayman Islands, Bermuda and Hong Kong; and calls on the Government to ensure that companies operating in the UK cannot use opaque structures based domestically or overseas to avoid paying in full their proper share of tax.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Ian Mearns16/05/2018GatesheadLabourProposed
Jo Stevens16/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris16/05/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Williamson16/05/2018Derby NorthLabourSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle16/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Caroline Lucas16/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/05/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham17/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens21/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Helen Hayes21/05/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards22/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hill22/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Matt Western23/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Thelma Walker24/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Ruth George24/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Sandy Martin05/06/2018IpswichLabourSigned
David Crausby27/06/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.