Parliament Website

International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia And Biphobia (No. 2)

EDM number 1283 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 17/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Gender recognition and Sex discrimination.

That this House recognises 17 May as International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia; highlights the significance of marking this day to raise awareness of the persecution, discrimination and violence faced by many LGBT people around the world; notes that in 37 of the 53 Commonwealth countries homosexuality is illegal, along with many other countries in which being LGBT is punishable by criminalisation, public beatings, enforced sterilisation and the death penalty; further notes with alarm that in the UK attacks against people from the LGBT community are growing, despite evidence that four in five attacks on LGBT people still go unreported; highlights the crucial importance of recognising and championing the human rights of all people regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity; and calls on the Government to ensure greater protections for minority groups within society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts17/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Hywel Williams17/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake17/05/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
David Linden21/05/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day21/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Wes Streeting21/05/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Peter Bottomley21/05/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens21/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker22/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham22/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hill22/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ruth George24/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/05/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.