Parliament Website

Teachers' Pay

EDM number 1301 in 2017-19, proposed by Layla Moran on 22/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Pay and Teachers.

That this House notes that the School Teachers' Pay Review Body is likely to make its 2018 recommendations to the Government in the near future; believes that if that body recommends an increase in pay for teachers that Her Majesty's Government must accept the recommendation in full and ensure that new money is provided to fund such a rise from outside the education budget; further believes that hard-working teachers and other school staff deserve an increase in their pay after years of pay restraint; further notes with concern that school budgets are under immense pressure which is already causing cuts to teaching staff, support staff, special needs provision, buildings maintenance, curriculum options and extra-curricular activities; believes that schools would not be able to fund a pay rise for staff from existing budgets or reserves; and calls on the Government to give a commitment to providing new money to fund any pay rise that is recommended by the School Teachers' Pay Review Body 2018.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Layla Moran22/05/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Edward Davey22/05/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Lloyd22/05/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSeconded
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSeconded
Norman Lamb22/05/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Cunningham22/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon23/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker24/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/05/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Harriet Harman04/06/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
George Howarth04/06/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mike Hill04/06/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Tom Brake04/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas05/06/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Grahame Morris05/06/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Jamie Stone05/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin05/06/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Christine Jardine06/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan07/06/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/06/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer12/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Farrelly20/06/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.