Parliament Website

Safe Standing In Football Stadiums

EDM number 1320 in 2017-19, proposed by Layla Moran on 04/06/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House welcomes the decision of Oxford United Football Club to consider introducing safe standing areas at the Kassam Stadium; notes that the proposals have received support from the majority of the Oxford United Safety Advisory Group; believes that safe standing areas can offer supporters more choice, a better atmosphere and cheaper match tickets; recognises that safe standing operates well in many sports and stadia; is concerned that there appears to be no mechanism for a club that has introduced a safe standing area to retain that area if it is promoted to the top two tiers of English football; notes that more than 110,000 people have signed e-petition 207040 relating to Premier League and Championship football clubs being allowed to introduce safe standing; and therefore calls on the Government to allow football clubs in all divisions to be able to introduce safe standing areas in their grounds.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Layla Moran04/06/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Jim Shannon05/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens06/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Sandy Martin06/06/2018IpswichLabourSeconded
Christine Jardine06/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mary Glindon06/06/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Norman Lamb07/06/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Gavin Robinson11/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Mike Hill11/06/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael11/06/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Kerr11/06/2018StirlingConservativeSigned
Jo Swinson11/06/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jamie Stone11/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson12/06/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
David Linden12/06/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn13/06/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer13/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Thelma Walker14/06/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Roger Godsiff19/06/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse27/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby27/06/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.