Parliament Website

Women's Rights In Saudi Arabia

EDM number 1356 in 2017-19, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 07/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Middle East, Roads and Sex discrimination.

That this House is concerned that, despite the lifting of the ban on women driving in Saudi Arabia scheduled for 24 June 2018, a number of Saudi women's rights activists, including Loujain Hathloul, Aziza al-Yousef and Eman al-Nafjan, have been detained, allegedly on the basis of undermining security and stability; is disappointed that some positive human rights developments in Saudi Arabia have been marred by these arrests; is concerned that the Saudi leadership seems to be continuing to deny the inherent legality and benefit of civil society activity within its country and to be criminalising constructive engagement between Saudi citizens and representatives from countries with a long-standing and positive relationship with the Saudi Kingdom; urges the Saudi Government to recognise the legitimate and constructive role of civil society and human rights defenders in its country, and to release these activists immediately if their detention is solely due, as it appears, to their human rights work; and calls on the Government to raise these concerns and cases with the Saudi Government immediately.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Ann Clwyd07/06/2018Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Martyn Day08/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald11/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Julian Lewis11/06/2018New Forest EastConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Thelma Walker11/06/2018Colne ValleyLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon11/06/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens12/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden12/06/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell13/06/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff13/06/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer13/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon13/06/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Sandy Martin14/06/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth George14/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/07/2018JarrowLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.