Parliament Website

US Administration Immigration Policy

EDM number 1434 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 20/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Human rights, Immigration and North America.

That this House condemns in the strongest terms the US Administration's zero-tolerance immigration policy which has seen almost 2,000 children and babies separated from their parents and held in cages at the border with Mexico; notes the recordings of traumatised children crying out for their parents from inside the holding cells and expresses vehemently how inhumane this practice is; further notes that the policy of separating children from their parents is unprecedented globally; notes with regret the US Administration's decision to withdraw from the UN Human Rights Council, turning its back on a legacy as a global champion of human rights; and urges the Government and the international community to come together in condemnation to push for President Trump to stop this abhorrent abuse.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards20/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts20/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams20/06/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake20/06/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Shannon21/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Patrick Grady21/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Tim Farron21/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brendan O'Hara21/06/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hollern25/06/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Chris Stephens25/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally25/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jamie Stone26/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse27/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/06/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Caroline Lucas27/06/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ruth George27/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Layla Moran09/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.