Parliament Website

Mandatory Fortification Of Flour With Folic Acid

EDM number 1448 in 2017-19, proposed by Stuart McDonald on 25/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Diseases, Food and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House notes the intake of folic acid has been proven to reduce the number of pregnancies affected by neural tube defects, of which spina bifida is the most common; recognises that at least 81 countries fortify flour with folic acid, including the US, Canada and Australia, and not one of these countries has reversed this policy; notes that 91 per cent of UK women of childbearing age have a red blood cell folate concentration below the threshold indicating elevated risk of neural tube defects; further notes that the Food Standards Agency, Public Health England, the British Medical Association, the Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition, the Scottish and Welsh Governments and the Northern Ireland Department of Health, believe that this step should be taken; further recognises that new research, published in Public Health Reviews by scientists at the Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine, Queen Mary University of London and the School of Advanced Study, University of London, shows there is no need for a folate upper limit and with the upper limit removed there is no scientific or medical reason for delaying the introduction of mandatory folic acid fortification in the UK; commends the work of charities such as Shine and SBH Scotland who work across the UK to provide information, support and projects to all those affected by spina bifida and allied conditions, and who are also strong champions of the mandatory fortification of flour with folic acid; and calls on the Government to take the steps required to make this policy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Stuart McDonald25/06/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartyProposed
Nigel Dodds25/06/2018Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Owen Smith25/06/2018PontypriddLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Simpson26/06/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon26/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts26/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day26/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens27/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Tommy Sheppard28/06/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson28/06/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman28/06/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Conor McGinn03/07/2018St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Chris Law04/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jessica Morden04/07/2018Newport EastLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas04/07/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Hywel Williams05/07/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Anna Turley05/07/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Michael Penning05/07/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson09/07/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Mike Hill09/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Patrick Grady09/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin10/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle10/07/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Williams10/07/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson10/07/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine11/07/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George12/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Paul Girvan16/07/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Wera Hobhouse18/07/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.