Parliament Website

Justice Committee Probation Reform Report

EDM number 1449 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 25/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Prisons and Alternatives to prison.

That this House welcomes the recent Justice Committee report on the Transforming Rehabilitation reforms; notes the Committee remains unconvinced that these reforms can ever deliver an effective or viable probation service; expresses concern that staff morale is at an all-time low, according to the report, with the Committee chair describing the probation system as a mess; believes that part-privatising the award-winning probation service in 2015, with a focus on payment by results, was a risky and expensive mistake; and calls on the Government to consult with staff unions including Napo and Unison on how to bring the whole probation service back into the public sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts25/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Catherine West25/06/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Kate Green25/06/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Teresa Pearce25/06/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
Lady Hermon25/06/2018North DownIndependentSeconded
Ruth George25/06/2018Signed
Jim Shannon26/06/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens27/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
27/06/2018Nottingham NorthLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jo Stevens28/06/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Paul Flynn28/06/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff03/07/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth04/07/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson05/07/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/07/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham05/07/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jess Phillips05/07/2018Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
05/07/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg05/07/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams05/07/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
06/07/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Virendra Sharma06/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Hilary Benn06/07/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Grahame Morris09/07/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Angela Smith09/07/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
10/07/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey10/07/2018VauxhallLabourSigned
Helen Hayes10/07/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick10/07/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer10/07/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
11/07/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Grogan16/07/2018Signed
Louise Ellman16/07/2018Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Toby Perkins19/07/2018ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly04/09/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Chris Williamson04/09/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas17/10/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.