Parliament Website

Universal Credit And Banking ID

EDM number 1505 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 10/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits administration, Financial services, Mental health and Working age benefits.

That this House views with concern the problems currently experienced by many vulnerable universal credit (UC) applicants, particularly those in in hostel accommodation and living with mental health problems, providing acceptable ID to banks for the purposes of establishing a bank account which is a condition of receipt of UC; notes that the Statement available on the universal credit website is proving not to be acceptable for these purposes to banks in a way that historical legacy proof of benefit letters were accepted; further notes that the Department of Work and Pensions is aware of these problems but has yet to schedule any remedy; and welcomes the existence of the Payment Exception Service to enable clients to receive cash vouchers with UC payments, but believes that this adds further unnecessary pressure and stress to those in situations who need it least.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Roger Godsiff10/07/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Chris Stephens10/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards12/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Mary Glindon12/07/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
16/07/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner16/07/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/07/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Helen Hayes18/07/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Martyn Day19/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George19/07/2018Signed
Paul Farrelly19/07/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
23/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
24/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/09/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell05/09/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman10/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.