Parliament Website

Small Claims Limit For Personal Injury And Access To Justice

EDM number 1545 in 2017-19, proposed by Ellie Reeves on 23/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Personal injury and Small claims.

That this House expresses concern at the planned increase in the small claims limit for personal injury; regrets the small claims limit increase is not on the face of the Civil Liability Bill and unable to be debated; further regrets the proposal to increase the small claims limit by 100 per cent from £1,000 to £2,000 in all personal injury claims and from £1,000 to £5,000 in all road traffic injury cases; notes that CPI inflation from the last change in the small claims limit in 1999 would only see an increase to less than £1,500; regrets the decision to ignore Lord Justice Jackson's recommendation against any increase above £1,500; notes the Justice Select Committee's recommendation that the small claims limit for personal injury should only be increased to reflect inflation from 1999; believes that an increase in the small claims limit will have severe consequences on access to justice; and calls on the Government to withdraw its current plans for any increase in the small claims limit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Ellie Reeves23/07/2018Lewisham West and PengeLabourProposed
Jo Stevens23/07/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Ruth George23/07/2018High PeakLabourSeconded
Harriet Harman23/07/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSeconded
David Hanson23/07/2018DelynLabourSeconded
John Cryer23/07/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Janet Daby23/07/2018Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield23/07/2018East LothianLabourSigned
James Frith23/07/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous23/07/2018Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Ged Killen23/07/2018Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Anna McMorrin23/07/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Alex Sobel23/07/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Rosie Duffield23/07/2018CanterburyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper23/07/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
David Drew23/07/2018Signed
Faisal Rashid23/07/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Sandy Martin23/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Mike Hill23/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Thelma Walker23/07/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns23/07/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
John Mann23/07/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney23/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Liz Twist23/07/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham23/07/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter23/07/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner23/07/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Kevin Barron23/07/2018Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi23/07/2018GowerLabourSigned
Emma Dent Coad23/07/2018KensingtonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner24/07/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Stephen Morgan24/07/2018Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Emma Hardy24/07/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Grahame Morris24/07/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham24/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards24/07/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Helen Hayes04/09/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas04/09/2018Harrow WestLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin04/09/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Alison McGovern04/09/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell04/09/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn05/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/09/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/09/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas06/09/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ben Lake06/09/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Farrelly06/09/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Edward Davey10/09/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen11/09/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick13/09/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Catherine West09/10/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Paul Williams09/10/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.