Parliament Website

British Airways Mixed Fleet Cabin Crew Pay Dispute And BA Wet Leasing Of Qatar Airways

EDM number 162 in 2017-19, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Aviation, Industrial relations, Pay and Sex discrimination.

That this House supports workers in British Airways Mixed Fleet cabin crew in their current industrial dispute over pay; condemns any company action penalising staff taking industrial action; acknowledges the significant pay package of £6.5 million to the boss of the airline's parent company, International Airlines Group; contrasts that package with reports that the starting basic pay of a member of Mixed Fleet cabin crew is roughly 533 times lower than that figure and thus below the living wage; notes the lack of parity in allowances to cover food between Mixed Fleet cabin crew and pilots; raises concerns over the environmental and passenger safety implications of the wet leasing of Qatar Airways during the period of industrial action; further raises concerns that Qatar Airways has been found in the past to be guilty of systemic workplace sex discrimination, which included female cabin crew being automatically sacked when becoming pregnant; and calls on British Airways to engage in constructive relations with Unite to resolve the dispute.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Lisa Nandy11/07/2017WiganLabourProposed
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns11/07/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens11/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin11/07/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Clive Lewis12/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner13/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Kate Green17/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury17/07/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Neil Coyle17/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Alan Brown17/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas17/07/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Clive Betts17/07/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Matheson18/07/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell18/07/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Matt Western18/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
John Cryer18/07/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd18/07/2017Signed
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Wes Streeting20/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rupa Huq20/07/2017Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma05/09/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves05/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Paul Sweeney05/09/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable06/09/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha de Cordova07/09/2017BatterseaLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin16/10/2017BedfordLabourSigned
Frank Field26/10/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.