Parliament Website

Fair Tips Consultation

EDM number 164 in 2017-19, proposed by Grahame Morris on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Incomes and poverty, Pay and Service industries.

That this House notes the lack of publication of the Government's findings following its fair tips consultation which closed in July 2016; urges the Government to share its recommendations; demands that the report following the consultation is published as soon as possible in order to give some assurances to workers in the hospitality sector; acknowledges the need for fair tipping practices as industry self-regulation has failed; recognises Unite the Union's campaign to scrap the administration fee from tips processed on cards which lead to some of the country's biggest high street chains such as Pizza Express and Zizzi dropping the fee; further urges other restaurants to follow suit; condemns employers who withhold, deduct or demand the return of tips from their employees; and encourages the Government to act to ensure that staff have 100 per cent ownership of their hard-earned tips.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourProposed
Lisa Nandy11/07/2017WiganLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns11/07/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens11/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin11/07/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Clive Lewis12/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
John Spellar13/07/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martin Docherty13/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
John McNally17/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Coyle17/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Clive Betts17/07/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Jo Platt17/07/2017LeighLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Vincent Cable20/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Wes Streeting20/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves05/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
David Linden05/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha de Cordova07/09/2017BatterseaLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.