Parliament Website

Baby Loss Awareness Week 2018

EDM number 1649 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 09/10/2018.

That this House supports Baby Loss Awareness Week 2018 which runs from 8 to 14 October, when it culminates in Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day; acknowledges that stillbirth, miscarriage and infant loss is a tragedy which governments in Scotland and across the UK must work to prevent; is heartened by the progress made so far with the National Bereavement Care Pathway which seeks to improve the quality of bereavement care for parents and families at all stages of pregnancy and baby loss; applauds the Parental Bereavement Bill which demonstrated cross-party working at its best to secure statutory paid leave for bereaved parents; is optimistic about the possibility of Fatal Accident Inquiries in Scotland or Coroner Inquiries in England in some circumstances of stillbirth where it is deemed in the public interest; is encouraged by moves towards a voluntary registration scheme for miscarriages prior to 24 weeks gestation, which may be of comfort to bereaved parents at a very difficult time; believes that slowly the taboo around the tragedy of baby loss is slowly being broken down which has greatly assisted with progress so far on helping those who face this life-changing trauma; and is mindful that whilst much has been done to address stillbirth in Scotland and across the UK, there is still more to do and it is important to keep this issue on the political agenda.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Patricia Gibson09/10/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Martyn Day09/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham10/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Chris Law10/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle10/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Jim Shannon10/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Bill Grant10/10/2018Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Lisa Cameron11/10/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady11/10/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes15/10/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss15/10/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Emma Little Pengelly15/10/2018Belfast SouthDUPSigned
Michael Penning15/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Paul Farrelly15/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mike Hill16/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/10/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.