Parliament Website

Appointment Of First Suicide Prevention Minister

EDM number 1677 in 2017-19, proposed by Keith Vaz on 10/10/2018.

That this House supports the decision made by the Prime Minister to introduce a Suicide Prevention Minister on World Mental Health Day; notes that in 2017, 821 suicides were registered in the UK; further notes that in the UK men remain three times as likely to take their own life as women; recognises the work that is carried out by the charity The Samaritans in helping those in need; and calls on the Government to focus on suicide prevention alongside continuing to increase mental health support for schools and for the most at risk demographics.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Keith Vaz10/10/2018Leicester EastLabourProposed
Jim Shannon11/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lisa Cameron11/10/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Mary Glindon11/10/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens11/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day15/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning15/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Emma Little Pengelly15/10/2018Belfast SouthDUPSigned
Gavin Robinson15/10/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham16/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson16/10/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hill16/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/10/2018East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Linden17/10/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell17/10/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas22/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman26/10/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn19/11/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.