Parliament Website

Health And Wellbeing Of Children And Young People

EDM number 1687 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Fitzpatrick on 11/10/2018.

That this House recognises the increasing challenges to the health and wellbeing of children and young people today; notes that 20 per cent of English pupils aged 10 and 11 are now classed as obese; notes that the number of girls treated for attempting an overdose rose more than tenfold from 1997 to 2017; further notes that 89 per cent of girls and 79 per cent of boys aged five to 15 fail to meet the minimum recommended guidelines for physical activity; recognises that firefighting individual issues is unlikely to reverse the increasing tide of poor outcomes; further recognises that a voice at the heart of Government is required to devise and implement solutions across departments; and calls on the Government to appoint a Cabinet minister for children and young people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Jim Fitzpatrick11/10/2018Poplar and LimehouseLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley15/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lucy Powell15/10/2018Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Michael Penning15/10/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Ruth Smeeth15/10/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Anna Turley15/10/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham16/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson16/10/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hill16/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/10/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Wes Streeting17/10/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon17/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle18/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Williams22/10/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Emma Hardy22/10/2018Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
John Mann22/10/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell22/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George22/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Chris Law22/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Paul Farrelly25/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker06/11/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil19/11/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.