Parliament Website

Nuclear Workers' Pensions

EDM number 169 in 2017-19, proposed by Lisa Nandy on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Nuclear power and Pensions.

That this House is greatly concerned about the proposed pension reforms to civil nuclear workers on Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA) estates; notes that as a result of the Enterprise Act 2016, these workers were also marked for a cap to be imposed on their exit payments, and were assured at the time that their pensions would not be affected; further notes that the terms and conditions that NDA workers were employed on played a crucial role in retaining their vital skills as part of the workforce; is alarmed that these pension reforms could see some employees lose up to 75 per cent of their pension; recognises the dedication and professionalism of employees working to make NDA estates around the UK safe; notes that any reneging on assurances that these workers were given is an insult to their hard work and commitment; and calls on the Government to honour the commitments previously made to these employees and urge the NDA to reconsider the proposed pension changes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Lisa Nandy11/07/2017WiganLabourProposed
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns11/07/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens11/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin11/07/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Clive Lewis12/07/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Spellar13/07/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts13/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Neil Coyle17/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Clive Betts17/07/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Sue Hayman18/07/2017WorkingtonLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard20/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.