Parliament Website

Women's Equality Day

EDM number 1730 in 2017-19, proposed by Layla Moran on 18/10/2018.

That this House welcomes the recent campaign started by the female pupils of Willingdon School, in Eastbourne constituency, which builds on the work of previous supporters to create a Women's Equality Day in the UK; calls for Women's Equality Day to be established on the date of the Spring Bank Holiday every year; asks for this to be known in future as the Women's Equality Bank Holiday, in order to celebrate the long journey to women's votes, which began with the presentation of the first petition to Parliament on 7 June 1866, continued with the first extension of suffrage to some women on 6 February 1918 and concluded with the granting of universal suffrage on 2 July 1928; and further calls on the Government to establish Women's Equality Day on the Spring Bnk Holiday in law as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Layla Moran18/10/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Lloyd18/10/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Cunningham22/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon22/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Hugh Gaffney23/10/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Graham Jones23/10/2018HyndburnLabourSeconded
Jo Swinson23/10/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine24/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Wera Hobhouse24/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff24/10/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hill24/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly25/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Edward Davey25/10/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake29/10/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Doughty30/10/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.