Parliament Website

Hunger Strike By Political Prisoners In Colombia

EDM number 192 in 2017-19, proposed by Jo Stevens on 17/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government, Latin America and Prisons.

That this House welcomes the amnesty framework laid out in the Peace Agreement between the Government of Colombia and the FARC-EP of August 2016; notes that all political prisoners should have been freed in January 2017; regrets that only 1,081 of 3,400 FARC prisoners have so far been released from Colombian gaols; is concerned that more than 1,400 prisoners began a hunger strike on 26 June 2017 in protest about the lack of implementation of the amnesty law; is further concerned that many have sewn up their mouths in this hunger strike in what is a painful and dangerous personal gesture; and calls on the UK Government to join the 455 human rights defenders and leading campaigners from all over the world, including Nobel Peace Prize winner Adolfo Perez Esquivel, in asking the Colombian Government to fulfil its obligations under the Peace Agreement and release the remaining political prisoners.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Jo Stevens17/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourProposed
Catherine West17/07/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon17/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Clive Efford17/07/2017ElthamLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jonathan Edwards18/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Lady Hermon18/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Conor McGinn18/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil18/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner18/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd18/07/2017Signed
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Anna McMorrin20/07/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves05/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Clive Lewis05/09/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.