Parliament Website

VAT Refunds For Museums

EDM number 224 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 19/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Museums and galleries and Taxation.

That this House notes that the draft Value Added Tax (Refund of Tax to Museums and Galleries) (Amendment) Order 2017 has not yet been laid before the House; understands that the draft Order was announced in the Budget on 16 March 2016, the consultation closed on 21 April 2017 and that the Order was due to come into force under the negative resolution procedure on 1 June 2017; believes that the Order will provide revenue that is vitally important to many museums, including the Athelstan Museum, Burns House Museum, Callendar House, Cumbernauld Museum, Dean Castle, Dick Institute, Elgin Museum, Glasgow Women's Library, Kilsyth Heritage, King's Own Royal Regiment Museum, Kirkcaldy Museum and Art Gallery, North Lanarkshire Heritage Centre, the Pier Arts Centre, Pittencrieff House Museum, the Regimental Museum of the Royal Highland Fusiliers, Shotts Heritage Centre, Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum, Stockwood Discovery Centre, Summerlee Museum of Scottish Industrial Life, the Fergusson Gallery, Wardown Park Museum, the West Highland Museum, the Library and Museum of Freemasonry, the Royal Academy of the Arts, the Royal College of Music, the Perth Museum and Art Gallery, Towner Art Gallery, the University of Nottingham and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park; and calls on the Government to lay the Order for the approval of Parliament prior to the Summer recess.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Alison Thewliss19/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael19/07/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Marion Fellows19/07/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart19/07/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman19/07/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman19/07/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady19/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald19/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara19/07/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald20/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz20/07/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Martyn Day20/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon20/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
David Linden05/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hannah Bardell07/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford11/09/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George11/09/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Chris Law12/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.