Parliament Website

Treaty On The Prohibition Of Nuclear Weapons

EDM number 225 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 19/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control and United Nations.

That this House notes that on 7 July 2017 the United Nations concluded a legally-binding Treaty on the prohibition of nuclear weapons with the object of leading to the total elimination of nuclear weapons; welcomes the fact that the treaty was adopted by 122 states with just one vote against and one abstention; believes that the treaty will be a significant and positive step towards achieving a world free of nuclear weapons; recalls that during a debate on Government plans for replacement of the UK's nuclear weapons system the Secretary of State for Defence said that this Government share the vision of a world that is without nuclear weapons, achieved through multilateral disarmament; is disappointed that the Government did not participate in the UN negotiations; further notes that the treaty will be opened for signature at the United Nations on 20 September 2017; and calls on the Government to develop and publish an appropriate transition plan so that the UK is prepared and ready to sign and ratify the treaty at the first opportunity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Kelvin Hopkins19/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams19/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Tommy Sheppard19/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/07/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan19/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner19/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Martyn Day19/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law19/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran20/07/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Stephens20/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss20/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald20/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
John Grogan05/09/2017Signed
David Linden05/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty06/09/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma07/09/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hannah Bardell07/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford11/09/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake09/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.