Parliament Website

Employment Rights At Mcdonald's Restaurant Outlets

EDM number 283 in 2017-19, proposed by Daniel Zeichner on 06/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Industrial relations, Pay and Service industries.

That this House notes that the global food restaurant chain McDonald’s is a hugely profitable multinational corporation and a major employer in the UK; further notes that currently many of its staff are paid below the rate recommended by the Living Wage Commission as the minimum necessary to enable a decent standard of living; regrets that the company's promise to allow workers the opportunity to move off zero-hours contracts of employment has thus far yet to be delivered; further regrets that the company has no trade union recognition agreement in place in the UK; recognises where such recognition agreement exists, such as Denmark or New Zealand, the company remains commercially viable while extending significantly better terms and conditions to staff than exist in the UK; supports the rights of Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union members in Cambridge and Crayford to take industrial action over complaints about the company’s internal grievance procedures in respect of bullying and harassment by managers; and believes that McDonald’s should seek to extend improved pay and rights to all its staff and drop its opposition to trade union negotiations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 60 MPs.

Daniel Zeichner06/09/2017CambridgeLabourProposed
Ian Mearns06/09/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Lisa Nandy06/09/2017WiganLabourSeconded
Jo Stevens06/09/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris06/09/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens06/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
John Spellar06/09/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Emma Dent Coad06/09/2017KensingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/09/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/09/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth07/09/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard07/09/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas07/09/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle07/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alex Sobel07/09/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Clive Betts07/09/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Preet Kaur Gill07/09/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
John McNally07/09/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon07/09/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner07/09/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Marsha de Cordova11/09/2017BatterseaLabourSigned
Matt Western11/09/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Snell11/09/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Laura Pidcock11/09/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Dan Carden11/09/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Ruth George11/09/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Mike Hill11/09/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham11/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker11/09/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Grogan11/09/2017Signed
Helen Goodman11/09/2017Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
David Lammy11/09/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Helen Hayes11/09/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous11/09/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Chris Law12/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas12/09/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jonathan Edwards12/09/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Amesbury12/09/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Hilary Benn12/09/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Ben Lake13/09/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff13/09/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan13/09/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Cadbury13/09/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Clive Lewis13/09/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald14/09/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ellie Reeves14/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Liz Twist14/09/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
David Linden09/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jared O'Mara09/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/10/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith09/10/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Neil Gray11/10/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Harriet Harman12/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Stephanie Peacock16/10/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan01/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby01/11/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.