Parliament Website

Transgender Rights

EDM number 355 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Doughty on 10/10/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Gender recognition.

That this House agrees that the recommendations of the Women and Equalities Committee report on transgender equality needs to be implemented in full; believes that gender identity includes those who do not identify as either male or female, identify as both, a third gender or are fluid in their identity; notes that long waiting times for gender identity treatment can do harm to patients who should not have to wait longer than the targets for specialist referral; recognises that verbal, physical and sexual assaults towards those with a non-cis gender identity is the highest of all minority hate-crime, with over half of transgender women reporting they have been sexually or physically assaulted; calls on the Government to update the protected characteristic in the Equalities Act 2010 from gender reassignment to gender identity with a statutory code that includes non-binary identities; recommends that specialist GPs should be trained so that they can provide bridging hormones while patients wait to see specialist centres; and further recommends bringing LGBT hate crimes into line with hate crimes based on race and faith by making them aggravated offences.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Stephen Doughty10/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourProposed
Angela Eagle10/10/2017WallaseyLabourSeconded
Ged Killen10/10/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Wes Streeting10/10/2017Ilford NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty11/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Dan Carden11/10/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Alison Thewliss11/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer11/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Stephen Morgan11/10/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Layla Moran11/10/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker12/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine16/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George17/10/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle17/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Caroline Lucas18/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Lucy Powell18/10/2017Manchester CentralLabourSigned
James Frith18/10/2017Bury NorthLabourSigned
Catherine West19/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner23/10/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Helen Hayes23/10/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg24/10/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Alex Norris24/10/2017Nottingham NorthLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Bambos Charalambous30/10/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Ian Murray01/11/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Rosie Duffield06/11/2017CanterburyLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith20/11/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Clive Betts20/11/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.